Brewfridge question

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi all,
I have been brewing now for 3 years and have always fermented in a cupboard that has a stable temperature of 20 degrees C. But due to excessive geekiness, I decided to make a brewfridge using a raspberry Pi and kit from BrewPi. It's in an old under-counter chest freezer which can heat, cool & has temp sensors in the fridge, the fermentation bin and outside in the room. Now to my question...

I am used to reading temp ranges for yeasts like 18-21C and I have always been happy to stick that into my room at 20C and let it do its thing. However, my brewfridge now has the capability to let me maintain a constant fridge temp OR a constant beer temp. Obviously choosing a constant fridge temp of 20C would be the same as using my cupboard and choosing 20C constant beer temp would meant the brew fridge would cool & heat to try to keep the wort at a constant temp (there is a sensor in the fermentation bin). So my question is, should I try to keep the wort within the temp range given for the specific yeast or just go with choosing a fridge temp in the middle of the range?

Thanks for any advice on this one,
Rich

Hi!
This has been discussed at length on this forum.
Here's my two-penn'orth.
The volume of air in the freezer chamber will be smaller than the volume of the cupboard. If your sensor is measuring air temperature it will cycle the heating/cooling circuits quickly.
If you measure the wort temperature, the thermal mass of the liquid will prevent short cycles from the heating and cooling circuits.
Go for a temperature that suits the yeast and the beer that you are brewing. If you are brewing a lager-type beer, aim for the low end of the yeast's range.

Hi!
Here's my two-penn'orth.