Brewmaker Scottish Heavy

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jackdaw

Reaction score
Hi
I have only made homebrew three times using kits so I'm no expert.
I've recently joined here(today infact)
After buying a couple of kits yesterday.
I bought two Brewmaker Scottish heavy kits from Tesco.Never tried brewmaker before either.
Anyway my idea is to put both kits into the fermenter along with 1kg of brewing sugar & 2 x yeast & maybe make 30 pints instead of fourty.I am looking at making it as strong as possible both in taste & ABV.Should or could I add more brewers sugar? Cheers:)

2 cans plus 1kg of fermentables brewed short is going to be pretty strong already, I doubt you'd need anything else! A word of warning tho, the cans are hopped for 40 pints (so 2 cans = 80 pints) so doing them both in 30 pints could end up quite bitter...the high abv could well balance it out but I'd be cautious.

Hello & many thanks for your advice:)
Well I'll be starting it at some point this week.I'm really looking forward to because I've never used two kits before so it should be interesting:)
Cheers

Hello & many thanks for your advice:)
Well I'll be starting it at some point this week.I'm really looking forward to because I've never used two kits before so it should be interesting:)
Cheers

Your aiming to make 37.5% of your potential brew then - this is going to likely produce a Krakatoa of a bubbling mess because of all the nutrient in it - I would recommend only making it to 20 pints at first and then after 5-7 days add the rest of the water or else risk an angry mess from the brew!

Many thanks for your advice.I will definitely keep that in mind.I've not made any for months so I want this one to be just right.Any advice is appreciated,cheers.