Carb drops question. Help a newbie out

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brewski169

Reaction score
Hi all.

First time poster, been lurking since I started brewing a few months back

Brand new to the hobby and having tons of fun! Only using kit's for now to learn about it all.

So far I've done 3 brews. The one that came with my starter kit (Derby Spire IPA), a Coopers Draught and a cider recipe I found on Facebook brew group.

Stuck the IPA in a King Keg and bottled the Coopers and cider. IPA was delicious even though I had all sorts of problems with a leaking kk cap (the cap was fine outta the box, dickhead here broke it while putting it together!) Bought a new cap with valve already installed and leak was fixed, drank the IPA as it tasted really nice if a little flat.

Anyhoo!

When I bottled the Coopers, I used 2 Easybrew Carb Drops per 500ml PET plastic bottle. I ran out of drops so used normal table sugar for 5 bottles. The carb dropped bottles hardly carbed up at all while the table sugar ones have plenty of fizz and keep a really nice creamy head.

Was it something I done? Did I not screw the caps on these bottles tight enough and its just a coincidence maybe? Will I just stick to sugar in future?

PS Used carb drops in the cider bottles too and they're also flat

Cheers

You would have had equal number of uncarbed bottles between the sugar and the drops if it was the caps. Maybe the drops didn't dissolve or it wasn't enough though two is pretty usual for 500ml. I would compare the two amounts.
People here do have good results with table sugar and it's cheaper.