Cider kit (basic!) query

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Curryholic

Reaction score
Pretty much newbie here. I've just bottled off my first brew of bitter and I've already picked up a cider kit to start after the weekend (I'm going away!).

In the kit there is the tin of gunk, a sachet of yeast and another clear plastic sachet and I've had a look in the kit and the instructions are fairly clear except for the clear plastic sachet :hmm: .

Anyone know when I need to add this in? From another post is it pour in gunk from can (with water) and yeast and leave for a week, then add the clear plastic sachet before racking???

Thanks,
dave

Possibly. Does the sachet say anything on it (possibly finings)?

If you can determine what's IN the sachet, we can help ya out :)

What type of cider kit is it? Maybe someone has done one and knows what's in the sachet.

the clear sachet, I believe is nutrient and should be added at the beginning with the yeast, make them work better.

read it here

Is it a regular cider or a flavoured one? The clear sachet could be a flavour extract such as elderflower or just apple.

Hi,

My guess is Anthony is right with flavouring. I have done some flavoured Magnum Cider Kits that contained said sachet. Add it to the fermentor after the initial fermentation has died down a bit(two to three days) to benifit from the flavouring fully.

N.b. Finings aren't usually supplied with cider or beer kits (though its not impossible). Yeast nutrient is usually a powder and not a clear liquid (again possible). If all else fails then you could open the sachet, if it is a flavouring then you will be able to tell from the smell.