CO2 Bulbs vs "L30" Cylinders?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KneeDownMarce

Reaction score
Hi all,

I've searched this forum and a number of homebrew supplier web sites, but can't find the answer to a couple of questions. I'm a newbie and would really appreciate a word of advice from those more knowledgeable than me!

1. With a pinless S30 valve fitted to my 5l plastic keg, what Co2 bulbs can I use? (ie 12g, 16g, 25g, etc) and do I need threaded or non threaded?
  2. If I bought a L30 co2 cylinder instead of bulbs, how exactly do you use it? I mean, do I need additional valves and tubes to connect it, or does it simply screw on to the S30 pinless valve in the keg's cap - sort of like a massive Co2 bulb?

Thanks for any advice or guidance. :-)

Kr,
Marcel

Here's how you use an S/L30 cylinder:

You can also get an adapter for Sodastream bottles which might be easier to find and do refills on

Hi Drunkula,

Thanks for the reply and the video links - I completely over-looked youtube in my quest for knowledge... how last decade! :-)

I'll do a bit more research to find out locally how easy it will be to refill either the L30 cylinders or the sodastream ones (and where to get a sodastream adapter from).

Thanks for taking the time to respond.

All the best,

Marcel.

I wanted to work out prices and availability for me (Aberdeen), so here is what I found today:

425g (60L) Sodastream bottle........New £19.99 The Range..........................£4.70 / 100g
425g............................................... refill £12.99 The Range..........................£3.06 / 100g
........................................................refill £14.99 Argos..................................£3.53 / 100g
240g S30 Hambleton Bard bottle ..New £21.99 Aberdeen Homebrew.........£9.16 / 100g