Corny keg quick disconnects - limited height?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SamR

Reaction score
Hi all

I've been brewing all grain for several years now and although I read the forum occasionally I've decided to join because I can't find the answer to my question anywhere else.

I have a 3-keg keezer which I'm slowly upgrading and expanding as time and cost permits. I've recently added the third keg. As it has to sit on the compressor hump, there is much less head space between it and the hinged top of the keezer. I was hoping that it would still be enough room, but with the height of the quick disconnects and John Guest beer line couplers, it turns out the lid won't close. The JG coupler is just a tad too long. So, I'm looking for suggestions!

It would work with the stainless steel QDs manufactured by Keg King, as they are short and the thread comes out perpendicular to the base, unlike the plastic ones which come out at an upwards angle. The problem is the one I bought seemed to cause the gas to leak from the keg when connected, and as they're expensive I'm reluctant to try another pair on the off chance the one I got was defective.

Other options I've considered are raising the height of the collar by about 1cm (cheap but time consuming), or perhaps going with a barbed QD because they look like they might be a bit shorter (but I don't know for sure). What might be easiest and cheapest (if they exist!) is a shorter elbow/right angle alternative to the JG coupler - has anyone seen them around?

Grateful for all input!

Sam

just checked 2 of my disconnects 1 x hosetail fitted and 1 x jg fitting fitted the hosetail extends the same distance as than the JG im afraid ;)