Dry hopping under pressure help please

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Elliott 22

Regular.
Reaction score
How quickly do people dry hops drop out of suspension in fermzilla 27l conical, mine have dropped into the yeast container within a few hours?
My pressure was at 16psi yesterday when I dry hopped and now letting it go up to 20-22psi today as at end of fermentation and transferring Saturday.
Temperature is 24c.
Any help greatly appreciated

Your pressure looks to be above what I've heard most people fermenting at, 10-12 PSI. Not saying it's wrong - I have little to no experience myself - but one of the side effects of too much pressure is stressing the yeast. With this in mind I'd make extra-sure that fermentation has indeed finished, and that you haven't just stunned the yeast into submission.

As for the hops, I normally put mine into the collection jar when I dry hop, first dumping out all the trub. Before releasing the hops from the refitted jar I flush it liberally with CO2 from my cylinder - I could use the gas being produced by the fermenter itself but I tend to wait until fermentation is practically over, and since you're not supposed to close the butterfly valve under pressure I'd be waiting a long time for enough gas to purge that jar. On releasing the flushed hops from the collection jar there's an almighty rush as the gas in there goes to the top, taking the hops with it. After that they can settle all they want, I'm sure they've mixed well.