First ever TC experiment results

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BigDDunc

Reaction score
I'm new to home brewing so 3 weeks ago I setup a 2L mini DJ so I could experiment to find the carbonation levels I would prefer. After 8 days in the mDJ (only morrisons own brand AJ, 1 packet yeast, zero other additions) all the activity looked like it stopped, or there abouts so I bottled (I had zero equipment at the time so I had to pour, and subsequently only got 3x500ml bottles worth. 1st bottle went 2tsps sugar, 2nd bottle had 1tsp sugar and the third had 1cm of honey in the bottom.

Anyway given the fact all I've read is that these TC's need months of conditioning to be any good, I cracked open the sugar bottles this eve (for scientific reasons obviously!) and my notes were:
2tsp = way too fizzy, made Champagne look tame and when opened it fizzed violently and although I only lost a relatively small amount the explosion at the beginning actually removed a lot of the carbonation but it still was pretty fizzy.
1tsp = a tiny amount of fizz out the top (but see notes below). But overall it had a bit more fizz than the 2tsp, I reckon because I didn't lose as much at the initial opening.

Notes: I had zero testing equipment so it may well not have finished primary fermentation after just 8 days so it's possible a 2 week ferment and 1tsp would be a perfectly fizzy (for those wondering what that means in my terms = a little bit fizzier than supermarket cider, a little. It closer to champagne level but not quite.

The thing that surprised me the most is the taste - I was expecting something terrible after such a short time in the bottles, however I was impressed. It wasn't a great cider but it was perfectly drinkable, in my mind very similar to a cheap cider in the shops.