General AG brewing questions.

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Weatherman

Reaction score
Morning All

I have been brewing AG for a couple of years now and achieving drinkable results. I have been meaning to ask some questions regarding moving on and improving that I can’t find the answer too and would be interested in other people opinions. If it’s been covered, happy to look at links etc.

I use a Brewster 40L so it only has a pump out option rather than a tap.

1. I use hop pellets in a disposable hop bag. Does this reduce the flavour. I do have a hop spider but haven’t really tried it.

2. If you add hops at 60 for a 60 minute boil, do you then take them out at 0…prior to cooling or are they ok to stay there? If I was using a bag, removing them wouldn’t be an option anyway, would it?

3. After cooling I pump to my FV. There is always gunk in the bottom in around 2 or 3 litres or wort-ish. I use either Irish moss or protofloc. I currently stop at this point and switch the pump off, ditching what’s left. Is this the best thing to do or will it settle out in the FV?

4. My beers always finish stronger than they should be. I seem to get the boil off/sparge amounts right and there’s usually 23-24lts to transfer to the FV. Am I just getting more from the grain than the recipes allow for? More efficient? The OG is usually a couple of points high and the FG a couple of points lower. I use a fridge/ink bird combo.

I think that’s it. Many thanks for any replies on any/all points you have.

1. I don't know the Brewster 40l but if there's any kind of filter / false bottom before you pump out I would just put pellet hops loose in the boil, that'll use them best.

2. No need to take them out before cooling.

3. It's fine either way. If you do put it in the FV it will indeed just settle out.