Hello - My first post - Made some Wurzels with pics

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fergusont20

Reaction score
Hi

Ive been a long time lurker on this forum and only registered yesterday.

I hoping to learn lots and end up with some pleasant wine

I have really enjoyed reading all the great posts on here and seeing all the pictures of peoples brews.

Obviously being a total amateur i have learnt quite abit by just reading through others peoples posts, Ive wanted to have a go at trying to create some Wurzels orange wine for some time now, so today armed with a shopping list i compiled by reading Moleys wurzel post (which i think is a great help) i headed into my local wilkos and came out £39 quid lighter.

wurzel1.JPG

I ended up with:

2 x Demijohns
A syphon tube
A hydrometer
2 x Old fashioned airlocks and bungs
2 x Newer type airocks and bungs
Bottle brush
Hydrometer tube/jar ???
Wine finings
Beer finings
Pectolase
Wine yeast
nutrient
campden tablets
Wine stabiliser
Cleaner
and something else which i cant make out on my picture

Running short of time i then took a trip to Lidl, one litre of orange juice and 1 litre of mixed grape juice (there was no white grape juice) and a bag of sugar

Back home i gave everything a real good clean and sterilise.

Armed with Moleys how to guide displayed on my laptop, i preceeded to make my first, of hopefully many orange wine

I dissolved 800grams of sugar in one pint of warm water
I added both my fruit juices to my sterilised DJ
Poured in my tea which had been stewing for 10 mins
filled DJ up to shoulder with cold water
gave it all a good shake
i then added 1 heaped tsp of youngs yeast, 1 tsp of nutrient and 1 tsp of pectolase
filled my airlock with water and put the dj on a tray in the utility room

wurzel2.JPG

Here comes my questions, apolgies if they are stupid.. i hope someone can help me