Just starting out

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cottlad

Reaction score
Have just seen pics (not tasted yet) of a mates homebrew stout and I really want to have a go. Got the OK from the missus so just need the kit. Am a complete newbie and am not sure where to start. My mate told me he uses a pressure barrel and doesn't bottle. But what is the best way (is there one?) I want to try and use my man-shed (wood) as a makeshift brewery but guess at this time of year I will need to keep things warm?

Would I be best going for a starter kit at about £60?

Am sure all this will become clear after my 1st batch but right now I'm a tad bewildered.

Any advice greatly received

Welcome to the forum!

I can only give my personal experiences so far:

2009-got bought a homebrew starter kit by my Mum and made some awful slop that you would struggle to call beer.

2012-Bought Cooper's starter kit which included English Best Bitter (made it without any 'extra' ingredients and it was a thin imitation of beer.)

2013-Decided to pull my socks up and get a premium kit (festival London Porter) and loved it so much, I got the bug. I've now done 12 different brews in the space of a year and love it.

Starter kits are good but I would say that you can get most of what you need from a combination of Wilkinsons (they have a 20% off sale on homebrew at present) and your local homebrew shop.
You will need:

A fermenting bin
Sanitising solution
bottles or a keg (or a combo of both)
a beer kit (malt extract)
Sugar & or dried malt extract

Keep us abreast of any other questions you might have; the guys on here have been very supportive in my frenzied attempts to make booze. :drink: