Making perry for the first time - any advice welcome!

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

darlacat

Reaction score
I've been brewing beer for ten years, but haven't ventured into cider-making. Seeing as my parents have a pear tree in their garden, whose pears are hard and tart and which they do nothing with, I feel like I should have a go at making perry later this year.

As a complete novice when it comes to cider and perry, any advice is welcome on pressing, yeast, process, etc!

I've never made perry, or `pear cider' as it tends to be called these days. But - sounds like your pears are keepers, in that they're inedible when picked but sweeten and soften up on storage.
I do make cider. If you juice them straight away the resulting cider is like drinking battery acid. But store them for 3 or 4 weeks and the acidity levels plummet. I did mine for 4 weeks last year and there was hardly any acidity at all.

Second Cwrw666s advice regarding storage.As for yeast I would use ec-1118 especially if you intend to sparkle it
But then i use that for most white wines 😁
This yeast will get you to just about any %abv you want,And is the yeast for adding a bit of sparkle.

Pears come up slightly short on flavour when fermented so use plenty,And then some more.

If you don't have a press i would recommend a "pulp" fermentation,Skins and all.!!!
Use pectolase and a bit of heat to break down the fruit (don't boil.) then add pectolase to the cool juice/pulp when starting fermentation.

Last edited:
Second Cwrw666s advice regarding storage.As for yeast I would use ec-1118 especially if you intend to sparkle it
But then i use that for most white wines 😁
This yeast will get you to just about any %abv you want,And is the yeast for adding a bit of sparkle.

Pears come up slightly short on flavour when fermented so use plenty,And then some more.