Mini keg CO2 question

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gilesw

Reaction score
I’ve never used a keg before - always bottled my brews, but I’ve just bought 2 20l Triple J mini keg/growlers. I got a dispenser with it - photo attached.

It didn’t come with any instructions, so I’ve looked at a couple of videos that suggested that the pressure should be around 10psi.

I wanted to test it with some water before my beer finishes fermenting, so put it all together and half filled the keg with water. I adjusted the regulator until the pressure hit 10, however when try pulling the tap, the gas escapes but no liquid. I’m probably doing something obviously wrong. I’ve gone through 3 of the 16g canisters so far trying this…

Any tips gratefully received!

8D3338E6-A8C1-4236-BD3C-E09A86F1121C.jpeg

Hi Richard - in the original message I said 2 X 20l kegs, which is completely wrong. The kegs are 10l each. I filled it about half way with water. The dip tube is about the length of the keg, so nearly rests on the bottom. I’m pretty sure the end is in the water.

Thanks!

Stupid question I know? have you changed the connectors around? The beer tap will need to be connected to the middle post and gas off to the side.

Yes, that’s how I’ve got it. Beer tap is in the middle, pressure release valve is on one side and gas the other.

Could it be that there’s not enough gas in one of those canisters for that volume of space?

I tried it once where I got the pressure up to around 10psi before closing the regulator and opening the tap, and once where I left the regulator open and opened the tap, but either way, whenever I pull the tap, there’s a rush of gas an the canister empties.