Oktober Fest

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

private4587

Reaction score
I am about to attempt David Heath's october fest from his latest video. I have all the ingredients on hand including the kevic yeast which i have never used before. I have a few questions which i hope someone can help with
1 i am going to be fermenting under pressure(15psi)@30 centigrade, do i apply pressure straight away or all the wort to build up to this pressure.
2 i will be using the all rounder with spunding valve set to 15psi, do i allow this to go to jar with starsan in for the 1st 24 hrs od do i just let the brew pressurise to 15psi and let the spunding valve take care of excess pressure.
3 when could i close the spunding valve to allow pressure to build up to take of carbonation (2.7)
Many thanks

I am from Munich and I can assure you that none of the breweries ferment their Festbier like this.

I would use a yeast strain more typically employed. It has a substantial influence on the flavour profile.

Pressurising a vessel without a PRV open is not a good idea. I'd keep (the spunding valve) attached and set to the target pressure.

15PSI is about 1BAR. That's way too low for fermenting under pressure. Especially at 30 centigrade. I dont know that yeast, but the temperature sounds very high (Bavarian lagers are typically done at 9 centigrade).

If you are doing the whole fermentation in this vessel, then it will reach 15PSI rather easily.

Sanitising the vessel is important too.

Last edited:
Just wanted to say, I've seen that video and it's a Marzen style, just to be clear.

I've just done (by coincidence) a Lutra Kveik Festbier (the lighter style), and I hate it. It's only 2 weeks old but next time I will use M84 yeast as it's so much nicer.

My one doesn't taste remotely like lager. The Marzen style might work better though. Just my opinion.