Old brewer but new here

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Les Howarth

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I am Les.

I am originally from Liverpool where I started winemaking in 1976 and then moved to brewing too. I'm not exactly sure when because I didn't keep good records in the early days. My first brews were Boots, Geordie, Tom Caxton etc. kits and weren't very good. I worked as a student in Stevenage for 6 months in 1978/9 where I gained a taste for Abbott Ale and bought a copy of Dave Line's Brewing Beers Like Those You Buy because it had an Abbott Ale recipe, but it was all grain. So I bought the ingredients and had a go. It was a comedy of errors because I didn't have the right equipment. I was trying to crush grain with a rolling pin and I think I burnt out a neighbour's blender she lent me. The extract efficiency was understandably terrible so I topped up with some malt extract. The final beer was nothing like Abbott Ale, but it was the best beer I ever brewed at that point! It was so much effort though that I went back to using kits...

In 1980 my parents relocated down to Devon and in 1981 I followed them as far as Bristol and more university. At around this time, I went into North Devon Homebrew in Barnstaple and went to buy a Bruheat. I misread the price label and thought it was £5 but when I got to the till I was informed it was £25! (Bear in mind a pint of beer was about 40p at the time) It was a pivotal life moment. What to do? I saw a future of crappy kits ahead of me and that vision was enough for me to whip out my credit card (which had a limit of £100) and bought the Bruheat. It was one of the best decisions I ever made. I still have it (repurposed as a HLT) and it has more than paid back that £25!