porter kit or partial

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

malty_me

Reaction score
Hi I'm just starting out and I need some advice. I'm a big real ale drinker and iv tried hundreds of different ales. My favorite one is badgers poachers choice. As my name suggests I am a fan of malty sweet ales. I was wondering if there are any porter kits out there that will suit my tastes. Or a partial recipe that would bring the desired effects. I'm really looking for a ruby/dark ale with a sweet malty flavor and minimal hoppy bitterness. Any help would be great thanks

if your up for it extract will be better than kit brewing but if you haven't brewed before i would try a kit or 2 first just to get the hang of it , have a look at some of these viewforum.php?f=58 if not re post and i'll see if i have an extract recipe and here is a how to for extract brewing that is very useful viewtopic.php?f=30&t=2672 :cheers:

Ok thanks mate. I would like to do a darker ale for my first. Any kits you can recommend. Iv read through the reviews and not a lot I fancy tbh. I would probably enjoy most of them but for my first I want to do something a bit special. Iv also heard that most kits can end up a bit weak and watery and I want something thick and strong flavored with an abv above 5%

You could do a double Coopers Irish stout plus 2kg of fermentables. Gives a beer at about 9% abv but requires a good 6 months conditioning. I can not comment on the mouth feel as mine is still conditioning but i added some cocoa powder to mine to make a chocolate stout.

I got the idea from MDs Coffee Stout

If 9% abv is too high though you could cut back on the fermentables