Slight cidery taste.

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

crasher600

Reaction score
I have just racked a brupaks wheat beer to a keg and had the obligatory taste. I have never done a wheat beer before but am quite worried about the cidery taste and smell i am getting, its not vinegar tasting but i am worried it is infected. Has anyone else had similar with a wheat beer after fermentation. Or is it screwed :pray:

Perfectly normal for some wheat beers to have a "cidery" quality :thumb:
It can be an acquired taste :?
My advice would be to drink it and acquire the taste :cheers:

:cheers: happy days then. Its pretty stressful this brewing lark if you are a noob you know. so far i have asked at least one question for each of my four brews :oops: . Questions have so far only revolved around the brewing, i think i can manage alone with the drinking. Wish me luck with this one i shall do my best to 'acquire' the taste. always up for something new

It maybe stressful brewing, but what you make helps to reduce the stress levels :party:
Don't worry we were all new once :)
When I were a lad (need old git smilie ) I used to ring the local homebrew shop for help or refer to my Dave Line books :wha:
I preferred visiting the lhbs in person though as he always had plenty of sample brews he was willing to let you taste :drink:

you can get a cidery taste from cane sugar too if you added that into the primary ferment ;)

Hi

I have just bottled Brupaks West Riding Wheat.

I accidentally tasted some whilst siphoning, and it didn't taste good. It doesn't smell like the previous few kits i've done either (admittedly none of them were Wheat Beers). Tastes kinda like vomit, for want of a better expression, and the smell was quite yeastie.