Twinketoes prances about

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Twinketoes_91

Reaction score
Hello everyone :).

I started brewing kombucha since the beginning of February (2020). I moved from Ghent (Belgium) To Ennis (co. Clare in Ireland).

This is my kombucha-storyline :) ...
Some two years ago, I started working in a 'fermenting café' called O'YO, in Ghent (Belgium) where they served dishes revolving around fermented food / drinks (mostly yoghurt). It's here that I tasted kombucha for the first time: YUM!
They didn't brew it themselves. It was only a couple of months later when I visited a friend that I first saw a decent brew of kombucha.
I remember seeing the scoby floating on the liquid, in the obscure, dark corner of a friend's room. Even though it looked kind of eerie, I was more intrigued and curious then anything else...

Fast forward to February 2020, I moved to Ennis. And suddenly, the COVID 19-pandemic breaks out. Being locked in our new place (with a big garden, luckily) we try and find ways to settle in. My man finds his joy in gardening, and I start with fermenting kombucha :).

Since then I fermented quite some liters of kombucha. I started off with a scoby that I had ordered online. Unfortunately, the scoby seemed really old. I managed to brew 1 time from it (and it was delicious), but the second brew fell still and mold appeared. So I threw everything away, but I grew a complete new scoby out of my first brew.
I have been brewing from there ever since :).

I tried adding flavors once (ginger and ginger/blackberry). I really liked it, but I like the regular kombucha the most :). Due to this season, the temperature stays between 18 & 20°C. So I brew for about 14 days. It gives me a beautiful kombucha, pH mostly between 2.5 and 2.9. Even after bottling I dare to leave the bottle out for another day or two for some fizz. Nice!