Virgin to Wine making!

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ski

Reaction score
Hi,

I am a total novice, but decided to try and make some Wine off a vine that grows wild at the back of my allotment, here in the UK.

Managed to collect enough red grape juice to fill a 5 gallon container, added brewing sugar and activated some yeast before fitting a air lock and placing everything up in my loft.

It all seemed to be going well, used to check it every day and it was bubbling away nicely.

Then yesterday it stopped completely after about two and a half weeks?

Is this normal?

Do I need to rack it off into demijohns now?

Any advice is welcome, I have not touched it, read somewhere that you are surposed to dunk the crust or something?

Sorry, I am in the dark with all this ;-)

Any advice would be appreciated - ta

Hi,

Sounds like everything's going well so far! You should definitely rack off at the earliest convenience if the wine has been sitting on decomposing grapes for three weeks, though leave airlocks on your demijohns, as fermentation's unlikely to be completely finished just yet. Do you have a hydrometer? If so then you can take readings of your wine's gravity maybe twice a week and wait for it to stabilise - hopefully it'll stick at around 0.994 (give or take) for three readings in a row, by which point you'll know that the bulk part of fermentation is over.

As for dunking the crust, no idea, but I certainly wouldn't dip any crust from winemaking into my tea ;)