Waht grains and hops to stock up on?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rukula

Regular.
Reaction score
I just got a sweet deal with a brewery that sells hops and grains. A nice % off on my next order, but only for one order..

So i was thinking about buying allot of things when i have this deal. My question is, what is the most used grains and hops? I already know a recipe i like, so I'm going to stock up on its ingredients, but over all I'm new to AG!

The beers I'm most likely to brew are Amber, India Pale and Brown ales. No plans what so ever on touching Lagers or Pilsners, and I'm waiting with stouts and porters.

Discuss!

for grain i'd say... pale malt/maris otter, crystal malt, wheat malt, roasted barley

hops.. depends on which you like really. if you prefer old fashioned english ales then goldings, fuggles, challenger. otherwise i'd get a bag of galaxy, summer, nelson sauvin.. the new austrailian / NZ hops.

Big bag of Maris Otter never goes amiss. Have a look at some of the recipes in Wheeler. That's what I did. Then make a list of the ingredients. Just don't go overboard as they don't last forever.

yes a pleasant few hours spent with Graham Wheeler, a pen and a sheet of paper.
Keep checking the amount your spending lol it soon mounts up.
Whatever you order get a 25kg sack of Crisp Maris Otter if you can. Each brew costs very little then.

graysalchemy said:
Crisps MO is a definite winner best base malt around :thumb:

Crisps pale malt is cheaper than MO, and can't see any difference. As for hops to many to choose from but galaxy are my hop of the moment.

Money isn't a problem. I don't brew to save money, its just a hobby