brewing from bulk LME > cerveza

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

oldskool

Reaction score
hi, im fairly new to home brewing and so far have only gone from wilkos cerveza cans which i really like but want to buy bulk LME.
now as i understand it the cans are pre hopped where the bulk LME is not, i can find all grain recipes or instructions to go from a can but no in between using LME as a base.
so my question is does anybody have a recipe/method to get me something similar to a cerveza using muntons light LME as the base?
i dont have any extraction equipment but boiling it and adding some hops is not beyond my ability though i only have a stock pot and a cooker nothing industrial sized lol
is this gonna be possible for me or am i better sticking to the cans?
tia

What most of us think of as cerveza is actually a wheat beer, as that is easier and hence cheaper to grow in Mexico. Most recipes contain 40-60% wheat malt with mostly bittering hops, little flavour/aroma but European "noble" hops work best. It is for the cloying flavour of the wheat malt that Westerners developed the practice of adding lime or lemon.

Having said that, I gave up on lagering around the time I was messing with trying to produce that style as too difficult, but as I recall a 50/50 wheat/light barley malts bittered to around 18 IBU and some Saaz at 5 minutes gets you close. It must be lagered, preferably bottled off the yeast, but the addition of a bit of bitter lemon peel can lift it out of the doldrums.

Hi oldskool I don't have a recipe for a cerveza but you could try searching brewer's friend.Here is a screenshot of a recipe I looked at.
0c46b05b4956facf2504b8e80f87be26.jpg

Sent from my Hudl 2 using Tapatalk

hi, im fairly new to home brewing and so far have only gone from wilkos cerveza cans which i really like but want to buy bulk LME.