why not pulp pear?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stu9000

Reaction score
I keep seeing recipes for Pear wine that say i should boil the pears and use the juice.
But, for some reason, i like the idea of doing the first bucket ferm with pulp.
any reason why not?

im getting the same with parsnip recipes.

im a newbie, but surely letting the fruit steep for a week gets more flavour and colour?

i think you can use pulp in a cider or perry there is a recipe in CJJ Berrys book. but the one for pear wine says to boil fruit. not sure why :)

i thought that too but im not sure. I mean perry and cider are clear ...i haven't been winemaking long enough to say.

No reason I can see why you shouldn't ferment pears on the pulp.

My notes from when I was making wine years ago are long lost, but I seem to recall making to CJJB's method once only and not being particularly impressed. Last year I froze, defrosted and pressed some pears (so no pulp, just juice) and it turned out to be a very nice wine.

I have never made Parsnip wine other than by boiling until softening but not mushy.

Hi Stu9000 i always ferment on the mashed fruit pulp with my pear wine and it turns out Very good.I never boil the fruit either, just wash the fruit before i put it through a blender then transfer the juice & pulp to a FV and follow my recipe.I think that blending it gets more juice & flavour out of the pears resulting in a better wine.If you want my recipe PM me and i will send it :cheers: Ken.

A neighbour promised me a load of pears but theirs rotted on the tree. However, I know where I could get quite a few.
fermentall said:
I think that blending it gets more juice & flavour out of the pears resulting in a better wine. If you want my recipe PM me and i will send it
Why not just post it for everybody to see?

Share and enjoy. :thumb: