Acetaldehyde - questions

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

adambrau

Reaction score
I'm new to brewing, having just bottled my second brew. Both brews when finished fermenting have had an overwhelming sour apple smell to them, the first brew I ended up chucking down the sink presuming it was infected. But after some research following that I determined it was most likely acetaldehyde.

My first brew was in the fermenter for 2 weeks, I checked gravity after around a week when fermentation had seemingly stopped and when having a taste of the sample it tasted ok. But after checking the gravity again a few days later it was starting to take on the apple flavour. By the time I opened it up for bottling a few days after that the smell was overwhelming, hence me presuming it was a goner.

Second brew, was sat in the fermenter for 3 weeks as I went away and forgot about it when I got back. It fermented down from 1.050 to 1.009 (prediction was 1.053 -> 1.010, so I was happy with that). But again pulling it out and taking the lid off the fermenter I was hit with the apple smell again. I pulled a sample and had a taste and it's very green apple. I've bottled this one to condition and see if it goes away. But was wondering if there's something I'm doing wrong.

One thing I've noticed is that once fermentation seems to be complete, my airlock seems to reverse and start pulling oxygen back into the fermenter. I'm assuming this is when some of the CO2 is absorbed into the beer or something and the air pressure changes, but it's happened on both brews. The kit I have at the moment only really allows me to do a 10L batch as the kettle can hold around 15L (i'm doing brew in a bag) but the fermenter is a 23L one I got in a starter kit. Is having so much headroom in the fermenter likely to be causing this issue with the airlock reversing?