AIPA planned - comments welcome!

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gurtpint

Landlord.
Reaction score
Seems like I'll be brewing next weekend and whipped up a recipe for an American IPA. Any comments/suggestions would be gratefully received.

(23L, 70% efficiency)

4800g pilsner
300g vienna
250g crystal 40
250g crystal 65
50g crystal 200
200g biscuit
200g amber
200g wheat

20g columbus aa16.2% 60mins
20g centennial aa12.3% 60mins
30g columbus 10mins
30g centennial 10mins
50g columbus flameout
50g centennial flameout

50g each of centennial + columbus, dry hop for 10 days

yeast: S-05

OG 1056
IBU 83
ABV 6%-ish

This is my first try with pilsner malt. Crystals for some backbone, biscuit + amber to imitate some toastiness. Inspiration by Stone IPA. Just got myself a nice little digital camera, so no excuses to not gather pictorial evidence this time :D

Nice to see the hops loaded up at flame out.
Looks like a beauty!!

When will you dry hop?
I've had good success dry hopping when I move to the secondary for a week before kegging so they go in after 2-3 weeks.

Never tried pilsner malt. Interested to hear how it differes from a Maris Otter.

Good luck!!

Looks good, lots of late hops and dry hopping.

Them hops should work well together.

I tend to dry hop after the initial flurry of fermentation has finished, usually after a week.

Cheers gentlemen!

Mark - no Cascade this time. Never used the other two C hops before so I figured this might be a good way to get acquinted with their potential. I have 100g of Cascade though, but I was thinking of using them as late/aroma hops for a lower ABV summer pale ale. Actually I was thinking of pairing them with some English hops. I have EKG and Styrian Goldings at hand - do you think either would go well together with Cascade?