Another First AG BIAB (Clibit Special)

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Paydoogs

Reaction score
After seeing the feedback yesterday on another brewer's recipe - I began to worry as I thought I was playing it safe, but not too sure now. I was hoping to doing my first AG this weekend.
Anyway, the recipe:
750g Maris Otter
100g Crystal 80
150g Barley Flakes

5g fuggles for 60 mins
10g fuggles for 5 or 10mins?

3g of Muntons Premium Gold Yeast.

I used the free 'BrewMate' to input ingedients etc, but as a noob I only understood the ABV at 4.22% which suits my alcohol level.

Should I cut down on the Barley Flakes and /or bump up the Maris Otter or just go for it and see? :eek:

Thanks.

Looks like a nice simple Stout recipe. I haven't inputted your numbers so I don't know about the bitterness but stouts should be in the range of 30-45 IBU's. Hop choice isn't as important but Fuggles sounds good.

Thanks for the reply.
Program says the IBU's come out at 23.4 but if that looks okay - then it's a goer.
I've just put a Cooper's lager Kit on now too, so it's going to be a superbrew weekend :thumb:

Looks like a nice simple Stout recipe. I haven't inputted your numbers so I don't know about the bitterness but stouts should be in the range of 30-45 IBU's. Hop choice isn't as important but Fuggles sounds good.

That wont make a stout as he only has flaked barley. He'll need some roasted barley too, to make a stout (but I know you know that and skim read the OP, mistaking flaked for roasted ;))

Well, that's done then. A lager kit and a small BIAB all snuggly in their wee bath. Can't wait to find out how it turns out.
One thing though, it was quite a lot of work to do a small batch but then again as it's my first go and I have some more hops and crystal malts to play with - it's just as well.

Sent from my GT-S7500 using Tapatalk 2