Better brew Czech pilsner kit help!

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tutoke84

Reaction score
Hi, I'm a complete newbie. I've done a a stout kit previously and it was great and no problems. I've just started this better brew pilsner kit. I followed the instructions and once it was in my fermentation bucket it bubbled like mad. Then 2 days later nothing, not even any micro bubbles. Is that right? Shouldn't it be bubbling for longer?

I'm guessing you didn't take a gravity reading? But don't worry !
It could have finished but most likely still
fermenting, the airlock isn't a reliable way to tell as the fv will often not be completely airtight. Hopefully you should see a foamy krausen on top which shows fermentation is under way.
Best advice is to leave it be for a couple of weeks and let the yeast do its thing.
Yours is a very common question and in most cases lack of airlock activity is not something to worry about.
Getting yourself a hydrometer is a good idea for future brews, to check gravity at
start and finish.

Just to confirm the above and set your mind at ease a little, i am new to this too and I am only maybe 20 days into my first coopers lager kit, mine seemed furious at first, but soon dropped off, but left it 16 days and saw a consistent drop off of gravity and maybe the odd bubble from time to time.

I have been told a few times I need to have patience so take that advice, it's easier said than done mind you lol!

DSC_1989.JPG

Don't panic.

Is the gravity reading what you are expecting from the instructions?

If yes, leave until tomorrow and check it again & if its the same you're good to package.

If not give it a couple of more days and then recheck

I thought maybe it had stop fermenting? So I'll just check in a few days and if it's the same do I have a problem? Thanks for helping

Is that reading 1018 or there abouts?