Yeast activation?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brittany.

Reaction score
Hi, wonder if anyone can advise? I did a beer kit today and followed instructions religiously. The last bit was to sprinkle the enclosed yeast on the surface of the brew once temperature down to 24C. I did that and sealed it with and airlock but six hours later its doing nothing. I was expecting bubbles to be flowing through the airlock. Any advice how I can get it fermenting? Thanks. Its my first attempt. I sterilised everything.

Hi, wonder if anyone can advise? I did a beer kit today and followed instructions religiously. The last bit was to sprinkle the enclosed yeast on the surface of the brew once temperature down to 24C. I did that and sealed it with and airlock but six hours later its doing nothing. I was expecting bubbles to be flowing through the airlock. Any advice how I can get it fermenting? Thanks. Its my first attempt. I sterilised everything.
Welcome to the world of home brewing. If nothing else, please note the following first three rules:

Patience, leave it alone and patience again 😉

Welcome to the forum.

6 hours may not be enough time for visible fermentation to begin. Some can take 12 hours or more to get going.

Also a lack of airlock activity is not always a sign of a lack of fermentation.

Wait a bit longer and sure it'll be fine athumb..