Boiling issue, gas vs Induction

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

freddles91

Reaction score
So I think this is in the right spot..
I'm still relatively new to it but I do all grain, I stick to small batches at the moment as my brewing kettle is only 12L due to limitations with my space. I do plan on upgrading at some point via a grainfather so I'm not too bothered about a cash injection to sort this current issue out..

All my batches so far I've done on the gas hob which can never get past a really weak boil which I find concerning. I bought a cheap 2.1Kw Tefal induction hob as I had £30 off voucher with John Lewis so I thought I'd use it as I thought maybe that would give a stronger boil. Basically I did a test with 10 Litres on both gas and induction and I found that induction heats up much faster than the gas hob, however when I'm measuring the temps at the hottest they reach, the induction hob will never get past 96C (205F) and my gas hob for some reason gets it a bit hotter at 98C (About 209 F), (Thermometer stick in the middle of both) If I stick a lid on the induction hob it easily reaches a powerful rolling boil but I don't want to boil with a lid on for obvious reasons!

Has anybody else found this to be the case where induction heats up much faster but caps out lower? I'm thinking of insulating the brew pot to see if I can push it up those last few degrees as I can actually do that with induction! Any other advice?
Cheers.

Has anybody else found this to be the case where induction heats up much faster but caps out lower?
Have you got it on manual and not something like the boil water setting?

On 1500 watts I get a full boil with 26 litres. This is in a plastic fermenter that I have insulated with stuffing from a sofa and a bit of foam and bungee cords.