Cellarman turns brewer!

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Darcey

Landlord.
Reaction score
Hello everyone.

I work in the licenced trade in pubs mainly working in cellars focusing on cask beers and the various peculiaritys of their dispence and condioning. I have recently begun brewing to add to my knowledge for work and maybe.. just maybe push my career towards brewing beer rather than dispensing it.

Today I have brewed my first solo all gain batch and I have done 5 extract / part extract batches over the last few months. Looking forward to asking some questions and getting involved in the community.

Also if anyone wants any information from the other side of the bar I'll gladly help, also looking forward to maybe answering some questions in my capacity as a cellarman / pub manager.

Darcey

I am slightly disappointed in my final beer volume, but that is getting used to my gear. Some how 15g doesn't seem enough from 6 hours brewing (or am I just used to extract!?!). Maybe the taste will tell.

Darcey said:
I am slightly disappointed in my final beer volume, but that is getting used to my gear. Some how 15g doesn't seem enough from 6 hours brewing (or am I just used to extract!?!). Maybe the taste will tell.

Welcome to the forum Darcey :thumb:
I think you're right to put this one down to experience. Did you make a note of your liquor? If you have then you can go some way to rectifying your final volume. Also, did you calculate and factor in your losses?
E.g.
Loss to HLT dead space
Loss to boiler dead space
Loss to mashtun dead space
Loss to hops
Loss to boil
Loss to grain
All of these added together will give you somewhere in the region of 10 or more litres depending on the weight of your grist, the amount of hops you are using and the dead space in each of your vessels.
For example:
Loss to HLT dead space 1.5L
Loss to boiler dead space 1.5L