Cider from juice cartons

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

amavadia

Reaction score
Hi all

Apologies if this has already been answered but newbie here...

I have many demijohns fermenting different wine flavours at the moment but would like to dabble in the cider game so I can make something I can drink sometime soon.

I know the difference between wine and cider is that you need to use 100% juice for the cider rather than diluted like for wine, but I was just wondering if it gives good flavour using the cartons you can find in the supermarket?

Tescos do a 'not from concentrate' range with a few different flavours which from the ingredients look to be almost 100% juice.

Its £4 for 3l of juice. Obviously not as cheap as buying the fruit and making it yourself but I dont have a press at the moment.

Does anyone have any previous experience of using these or similar for cider?

Thanks

Try a forum search for Turbo Cider, it crops up regularly, just supermarket apple juice and yeast, simples ;)

Moley said:
Try a forum search for Turbo Cider, it crops up regularly, just supermarket apple juice and yeast, simples ;)

ooh thats what Turbo Cider is!

Hi there, im totally new to all this home brewing so not an expert at anything just yet :(
But i have been watching videos and reading forums so decided to have a go at this 'inmate brew'. Basicly all the ingredients you need are to be found in the supermarket, no special sugars or yeasts etc, hence the name of it!
My inmate brews are fermenting like mad so it works. From hydrometer readings it shall be 9.6% abv.

So here's what i bought and did..

1kg sugar
packet of baking yeast (they come in 7g sachets)
4 litres of apple juice (concentrated)
5 litre bottle of water