Cleaning and sanitizing

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wizurd

Reaction score
Hi all.

I've been doing some reading up and have tried searching the forum regarding cleaning and sanitizing equipment.

I just wanted to double check however since I'm totally new to this.

I'm going to be using starsan to sanitize my fv, bottling bucket, pipes, etc. Do I need to sanitize my hlt, mash tun or boiler however? I read that preboil equipment doesn't need to be sanitized only cleaned. Is that correct?

Second with bottles. I'll clean them and drain in a tree. When it comes to bottling I just squirt some starsan into the bottles probably using one of those bottle squirting things (can't remember the name sorry) and then can immediately fill with fermented wort. Is that correct?

Sorry to be asking questions that have probably been answered loads but I want to make sure I'm understanding things correctly.

Thanks.

Hi all.

I've been doing some reading up and have tried searching the forum regarding cleaning and sanitizing equipment.

I just wanted to double check however since I'm totally new to this.

I'm going to be using starsan to sanitize my fv, bottling bucket, pipes, etc. Do I need to sanitize my hlt, mash tun or boiler however? I read that preboil equipment doesn't need to be sanitized only cleaned. Is that correct?

Second with bottles. I'll clean them and drain in a tree. When it comes to bottling I just squirt some starsan into the bottles probably using one of those bottle squirting things (can't remember the name sorry) and then can immediately fill with fermented wort. Is that correct?

Sorry to be asking questions that have probably been answered loads but I want to make sure I'm understanding things correctly.

Thanks.