Coopers 86 Day Lager kit - How to use hops.

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Neilos1988

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to home brewing, just finished up a Coopers European lager which I bottled on the 9th, I understand the longer you leave it the better, however I've tried a few and they are very drinkable. I used washed out Budweiser bottles with the Twist caps so when I'm sampling it's only a small amount if it doesn't take great now. I used 500g of Muntons Dry malt Extract and 500g of good old Silverspoon granulated sugar, I added a couple of extra spoons of sugar just for good measure, how much is unknown. The OG was 1.048 and FV was 1.008. which gives me a % 5.25.

Now moving onto the Coopers 86 Day Lager. I have been lurking on the forum and it is advised to add hops to the brew to enhance the flavour.

So I plan on using the same fermentables as my first brew and I have also purchased 100g of hops (Motueka) to add to the brew. I like the sound of the extra flavours that Motueka brings to the table.

My question is how and when do I add these hops, do I boil them first and then add, and at what point?.

Any help much appreciated.

Cheers Neil

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to home brewing, just finished up a Coopers European lager which I bottled on the 9th, I understand the longer you leave it the better, however I've tried a few and they are very drinkable. I used washed out Budweiser bottles with the Twist caps so when I'm sampling it's only a small amount if it doesn't take great now. I used 500g of Muntons Dry malt Extract and 500g of good old Silverspoon granulated sugar, I added a couple of extra spoons of sugar just for good measure, how much is unknown. The OG was 1.048 and FV was 1.008. which gives me a % 5.25.