Coopers European at "room" temperature

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gredawarha

Reaction score
Hello all

I have been drewing coopers kits for 6/7 months now and enjoying it.

I am wondering if anyone has brewed the Coopers European Lager without controlling the temperature? My kitchen is generally 18-20c, I appreciate that this brew should be fermented at lower temperatures but I am wondering if it is still worth doing?

What do you good folk think?

I shouldnt worry about the temp thing too much. You'l get a good pint at 20c just dont let it go much above that. You tried sticking your FV in a large bucket of cold water and putting a towel around it to soak the water up the sides?

GN

Been thinking about creating a "swamp cooler" by placing the FV in a bigger bucket with water and bottles of ice. NOt sure if the wife will be happy with me taking up more room in the kitchen though!

Just enjoying a Coopers Euro at the moment that took 3 weeks to ferment, it was way before the heatwave when temps were about 17degC during the day and a lot cooler at night, it is crystal clear but took a long time to condition, well worth the wait.

Good stuff. Well I have a coopers Australian that needs to be brewed but after that I shall buy some European from my local home brew store and give it a go. Any opinions on what fermentables to use with the European, I tend to use 750g of brewing sugar and 250g of light spray malt with my Australian although I occasional add abit more if I have any left over.

Thanks

The Ginger Ninja said:
I shouldnt worry about the temp thing too much. You'l get a good pint at 20c just dont let it go much above that. You tried sticking your FV in a large bucket of cold water and putting a towel around it to soak the water up the sides?