First beer down the drain

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Simonh82

Landlord.
Reaction score
I've been brewing for 2 1/2 years and so far have always made beers that I've enjoyed. Unfortunately, I've finally ended up with a beer that will be going down the drain. What's even more galling is that it was a perfectly fine lager until I tried to jazz it up with some extra dry hops.

The beer was meant to be a bit pilsner-like, although I used Maris Otter instead of lager malt but otherwise it was a good first effort at a lager. It was clean, with fairly light malt flavour, low hop bitterness and aroma. After kegging and drinking it for a week, I decided that whilst it was a fine drink, it wasn't really what I wanted to drink an entire keg of. I thought that I would jazz it up by chucking in 100g of Rakua hops in a nylon hop bag.

I don't know whether it was because the hops were off (although they were 2017 harvest and vacuum sealed) but when I sampled it the following day, my lovely bright clear beer had gone murkier than a NEIPA and smelt strongly of cheesy/cat sick aroma.

I've kept it in the keg for a couple more weeks now to see if it will improve but every glass is just as disgusting. I'm gutted, given that the base beer was fine, if a bit uninteresting for my taste.

Before it goes down the drain, does anyone know if there is a way to get rid of the butyric/isovaleric acid flavour which I believe are the culprits for this mess?

Whatever happens, I'm not going to be using Rakua hops again.