First brew: apple cider

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lucretia

Reaction score
Hi, I generally drink Strongbow with the occasional Kopparberg or Rekoderlig, can't really handle too much of the strong (the deep coloured) stuff so would be looking to brew something of similar flavour to Strongbow.

Do you have any pointers/tips of what do/not do and what to avoid for the total newbie?

Thanks,
Luke

I apologise for being faceatious in advance, but use apples, and stop drinking strongbow, trust me, that once you've tried stuff that doesn't taste of chemicals, and has at least some resemblance to the apples it's actually made of, then you'll never go back.

if you're using apples, then you need to have the correct blend of to give you the right quantities of bitter sharps, sweets, sugars, tannins, etc, and this in itself is an art form, but you can get rather nice single variety cider, for instance 'Katy' apples are good for this.

otherwise follow one of the Turbo Cider recipes, use apple juice from the supermarket, make sure equipment is thoroughly steralised before hand, keep the exposure to air/oxygen as little as possible once fermentation is underway, don't be put off if it doesn't smell right to start with, have lots of patience, keep asking questions on here if you're stuck, and most of all enjoy your brewing experience!

I used to drink strongbow but can't face it now it' really sweet and feels like it burns my tongue lol and as for that kopperburg stuff I really don't like that anymore urgh sooooooooo sweet and leaves a horrid feel in mouth :sick:

if you do a tc from just juice and no added sugar your cider will be about 6% if you add more sugar it will go dry and you wont really like it if you like the sweet ones