First brew fail...Muntons American IPA

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

edenbrew

Reaction score
Hi All, newbie here. Had been toying with the idea of giving home brewing a try for a little while and recently got an extract kit – one of BrewUK’s bucket + pressure barrel sets with the Muntons American IPA beer kit. Spoiler alert: somethings not quite right with the beer! So was hoping if I give a bit of a timeline someone might be able to advise if I’m able to rescue it, or if I need to chuck 5 gallons down the toilet!

So first off, got everything nice and sterilised, warmed the tins in a pot of hot water and got them poured into the fermenting bucket along with a couple of kettles of boiling water. Topped up with cold to the 5 gallon mark giving it a good mix, took a gravity reading (1.030, but in retrospect I think I might have misread this) then added the yeast and popped the lid on the bucket, pushing in the airlock. So all done according to the instructions and the helpful video on the BrewUK site, and the bucket was set to rest under my kitchen worktop where the temperature tends to stay within the 18-21 degrees range.

Couple of days pass, not much activity in the airlock so I’m getting a bit concerned the fermentation isn’t going well but sure enough on day 5 when it’s time to dry hop as per the instructions, there is a nice head of krausen on the beer so I take another gravity reading (1.015) before sprinkling in the hop pellets. Four days later the airlock activity has completely stopped so I take another gravity reading, now it’s 1.005. The krausen was almost all gone by this point, just a tiny head of bubbles remain and I opt to transfer to the pressure barrel even though I’m a day earlier than the instructions suggested. Added 85 grams of sugar mixed with a little hot water to the barrel, then siphoned the beer in and capped the keg.