First brew kit?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bashley

Reaction score
Hi All

I'm a homebrew virgin but would love to get into brewing my own. There's such a wealth of info on the subject
but it's has baffled me a little.
I'd like to know, what would be a decent first kit to buy? I have no knowledge or equipment
I'd like to brew primarily IPA but occasionally ales similar to the badger beers. I'd be really into try different blends of hops etc.
I guess seeing as I like a nice chilled IPA, bottles would be best?
Is it ok to use existing beer bottles provided they're sterilised?
I know, you guys must be tired of hearing these types of questions from debutants!

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Welcome to the forum
I suggest you read this first. Amongst other things it suggests a basic shopping list for equipment.
Basic beginners guide to brewing your own beer from a kit - The HomeBrew Forum
There are two sorts of IPA . A 'traditional' English type, and an American IPA which usually comes with a citrusy taste.
If its the latter you like Youngs American IPA is a good kit and has everything you need in the box. It will need about 3/4 weeks in the fermenting vessel (FV), two weeks to carbonate and at least another two weeks to condition or mature before you get to drink it. Other kits dont take much less before you can drink them in spite of what the manufacturers will tell you.
You will find the review in here along with many others
Beer Kit Review A - Z

Personally I have found the Coopers lager kit very good to start off with :
s-l1600.jpg