Festival Golden Stag kit

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Beer Elzibub

Reaction score
As a near beginner I thought I’d post some kit reviews which other new starters / re-starters might find useful.

This was the first kit I made on my return to home brewing before Christmas. Kits have got better since I last made one 25 years ago - 3Kg of extract (no bag of Silver Spoon) and some hop pellets to add during fermentation. OG was 1038 and after 2 weeks at about 17-22 C bottled at 1010. Tasted at bottling it seemed a touch bitter but I needn’t have worried, after 2 weeks conditioning it tasted fantastic. I’d have been happy to be served this in a pub, well balanced, not as hoppy as the description suggested but a very refreshing drink at Chrstmas.

Planning to start AG brews this year but I’ll probably come back to this kit.

IMG_3847.jpeg

Great. I’ve been brewing 3-4 years now. A mix of kits and full extract brewing. I have honestly been so happy with the results that I haven’t made a switch to AG yet. I think I’ll stay going as I am. Maybe it’s something to do with the water. But I haven’t made a brew yet that had off flavours. They have been very drinkable. Mangrove Jacks Pink Grapefruit IPA, Mangrove Jacks Juicy Session IPA and Festival Razorback IPA are in my top 4 along with a Full Extract Citra IPA from the Homebrew company which was number 1.