First cider brew

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

traffic76

Reaction score
Hi folks, I'm hoping here is the place I can get some answers to a few questions I have about my first cider making experiment. I've just pressed 5 gallons of fresh apple juice into one drum but I'm uncertain of exactly how many Camden tablets I should throw in. I've read somewhere that you put in 1 tablet per gallon but are 5 tablets too many?

Also after this is solved I'm just wondering how much yeast I should put in. Again I've read somewhere about 1 teaspoon but gallon but I've also read one sachet per 5 gallon... big difference! Could anybody here help me before I ruin the lot. Thanks in advance, Nigel

I'm no expert but 5 campden sounds right. There is no difference between 1 campden per gallon, Or 5 per 5 gallon, same ratio :D

It depends on which yeast your using so I would advise reading the packet :D My youngs wine yeast states "1 teaspoon per gallon" however a sachet of youngs cider yeast states "suitable for up to 5 gallons" what yeast are you using? :)

Hope this helps :D

However like I said I’m no expert so I would wait for confirmation from a more experienced home brewer than myself :)

Hey Nigel.

First of all just thought i should say that i have done multiple turbo ciders and cider kits but have not had enough equipment or money to be able to make pure cider from pressing apples.

Camden tablets are used to kill bacteria so yeast can grow, you use that to make sure that all your equipment is sterilized. you can use them towards the end of the fermentation to stop fermentation if you are in a rush to bottle.

A sachet of yeast usually = 5g.
a teaspoon = 5g.

Not too different but i reccomend getting yeast from special homebrewing shops. i use "high alcohol yeast" to make sure that my cider's can get to their maximum strength!