First go at a NEIPA

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GregH

Reaction score
Hello all,

This will be my first recipe post and also my first go at a NEIPA so please critique as necessary. This will be a 23 litre bottle batch of beer using a full volume BIAB. The recipe itself is from beercraftr.com which I have adjusted for the batch size and method.

Water Profile: (Current, Target,) (I'm quite new to water adjustments so please see my post in the more advanced water treatment sub-forum)

Ca - 100, 183
Mg - 4, 9
Na - 7, 7
Cl - 16, 140
SO4 - 15, 69
Alkalinity to zero using CRS @ 54ml

Grain Bill

4.76kg Marris Otter
530g Flaked Oats
330g Cara-Pils

Hops

Using Citra, Dorado and Mosaic for each addition including dry hop.

4.5g @ after mash but before the boil
8g @ 20 minutes after boil during cooling
13g @ 30 minutes after the boil
5.5g @ 40 minutes after the boil

Dry Hop

20g for 8 days (assuming a 14 day fermentation period so dry hoping after 6 days)
20g for 4 days (assuming a 14 day fermentation period so dry hoping after 10 days)

Yeast will be London Ale II (Wyeast 1318) and am aiming for a 7.0% abv.

What are you thoughts?

Thank you for any advice in advance.

For an NEIPA I’d maybe leave your FWH addition in (but reduce it significantly)and move all your other hop additions to flame out. It’s also nowhere near enough hops for a NEIPA.

For biotransformation you want to add your first dry hop when fermentation is still quite active.

It isn't anything like what I do, but I love to see what other people do!