First Stout Question

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lee111

Reaction score
Hi

I was wondering if you lot can help me out.

I’m relatively new to AG brewing, I’ve only done about 6 or 7 AG kits last year. I set myself a challenge this year to make a good Belgian stout. I’ve found the recipe I want to follow and I have most of the ingredients. I’ve only just noticed the recipe asks for white and dark sugar. ( 800g of each ) I have 1kg of Belgian clear candi sugar and 1kg of Belgian dark candi sugar. I’m just wondering if I should use the candi as I have it on hand or will this have a negative affect on the stout ?

Thanks

Lee

You can probably use them with no problem, why do the recipe call for both is a head scratcher for me though?

I honestly don’t know. It be fair it’s only the second one I’ve done that says to add sugar. I thought it was something to do with the yeast / sugar consumption. It is a high ABV around 11% but I thought it would all be one type of sugar. If I ever find out I will let you know.

Thanks for the reply

I stumbled on this thread as it appeared on the "Similar Threads" list of another thread I was working on. I'm certainly too late to be any help to @Lee111 ... his "challenge" was for last year, not this one!

But I've got me eye on "Stouts" having just received Ron Pattinson's new book: "Stout!" (Yeap, it's out now!).

... I set myself a challenge this year to make a good Belgian stout. ...

"Belgium Stout" ... there's something wrong with that ...

Nope, I'm not talking about mentions of my pet hate "Belgium Candi Sugar", although I have notice it! It's the word "Stout". It's an English word. Why is a country that has been capable of brewing beers to easily challenge any brewed in Britain brewing a style of beer closely linked to Britain? The Belgiums have no need to blatantly copy British beer.