Have i just made a mistake & more questions

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shenty

Reaction score
Hi guys - revived newbie here.

Only did a couple of barrels about 8 yrs ago & wasn't overly impressed but kept most of the kit & passed the homebrew stuff in Wilkos the other week & thought ya know what i'm gonna try again. So i've been doing some research & youtube hunting & restocked with the items that got thrown away & keeping finding myself with questions.

Yesterday i bottled some & barrelled the rest of a Woodfordes Wherry Real Ale kit. For the 1st time i used a packet of beer finings. I added this after 4 or 5 days to the fermenting barrel. Did i add this at the right time ? Thats 1 question.

Next question, when i bottled/barrelled i opened a pack of beer enhancer to use instead of sugar (only ever used granulated before), measured out 110g & put half teaspoon (actually 2.5ml side of medicine spoon) in each bottle & tipped the rest into the barrel. Was i OK doing this or have i upset the balance of either or aerated the beer ? (I've read its not good to bottle from the barrel after its secondary fermentation) but i 'think' what i did was secondary at that stage.

Question 3 - because i am prepared to be more patient this time round (instead of 'ahem taste testing after 7 days in the barrel - i am actually going to wait the recommended 2-3 weeks this time so it doesn't all run out by the time its reached its best), anyway i bought a Coopers Stout kit to try. After fully sterilising ALL the equipment i heated the wort, tipped it into the fermenting tub, then realised i only had a 1kg bag minus 110g of beer enhancer, so i used 110g of caster sugar.......is that an oooops moment or will things work out ok.