Hello all!!!!!

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

swanseajack

Reaction score
A complete and utter noob here. Been thinking of brewing my own for a while now and took the plunge the other day. But being a complete tool I didnt take the sp before putting the yeast in. Is there anyway of obtaining the total strength of the alchoal?

swanseajack said:
A complete and utter noob here. Been thinking of brewing my own for a while now and took the plunge the other day. But being a complete tool I didnt take the sp before putting the yeast in. Is there anyway of obtaining the total strength of the alchoal?

Was it a kit beer? If so, post what the kit was, how much sugar you added and what the final volume was. I'm sure that we can come up with a figure that is there or thereabouts.

Hey swanseajack welcome to the forum. Like luckyeddie said, post some figures and I'm sure someone will be able to give you an estimate.
Drop into the bar tonight and maybe someone will know what the kit (if you have replied by then) generally finishes as, just a thought.

Thanks guys,

The first kit was a 'Maguum' Pear cider 5 gallons and I put in 1.3kgrams of sugar. The reading is about 1.000.

The other one is 'Youngs brew buddy kit' Cider 5 gallons and I put in 1kg of sugar. The reading is about 1.030 this is a really slow to ferment with very little activity, this is due to the temp I imagine (dam the combi boiler and no airing cupboard).