Help with metallic kegged beer

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Elliott 22

Regular.
Reaction score
Hi guys I am new to kegging and need some help,
I made a pilsner from a kit which I have done before but this time under pressure and then closed transferred, now set at 15psi and first pint tasted decent although a little bit of yeast and now very metallic, what could I of done wrong? Also it is a new reconditioned keg?

I get this on and off, not everyone can taste it.
I can taste it, the missus can't, my son can, her son can't.
I used to taste it on some commercial beers as well, particularly lagers, never in a cask conditioned beer.
It tends to be when the beer is first poured.
If you leave the beer for 5 minutes does the taste go?
It's not every beer, and not all the time.
I'm convinced, in my case at least, it's the co2, maybe how much is actually in suspension.

I used chemsan and yes a corny keg
That may be part of the issue as chemsan is not a cleaner, just a sanitiser. You would need to give the keg a good clean with something like chemclean, PBW or equivalent to remove any residues from the surfaces.
Did you fill the keg with chemsan and if so how long did you leave it soaking. As it is an acid I don't like soaking anything in it for an extended period, same goes for the cleaning products.

That may be part of the issue as chemsan is not a cleaner, just a sanitiser. You would need to give the keg a good clean with something like chemclean, PBW or equivalent to remove any residues from the surfaces.
Did you fill the keg with chemsan and if so how long did you leave it soaking. As it is an acid I don't like soaking anything in it for an extended period, same goes for the cleaning products.
I know really silly of me, i was so concerned with doing my first closed transfer I got to the transfer point and realised then 🤦‍♂️