Hi. Some advice if you will...

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

peteplus1

Regular.
Reaction score
First post, yay!
Posted this in the How to section but figured it would be ok here too...

Im totally new to brewing and thoroughly enjoying doing some research and getting my brewing area kitted out.Did a gallon of elderberry last year which i hope turns out ok upon consumption this year.Got a dandelion on the go... and planning a whole lot more in these coming Summer months.Rather than slip up over every obstacle going (though practise makes perfect right?) i just wondered if any seasonedwine makers could offer me a tip or two. Lots of conflicting recipies and ideas out there y'know! And i appreciate this may be old ground and faq's! so thanks in adv!If anyone can answer a short selection of queries below i would be very grateful ....
1. The dandelion has slowed down its ferment (2 and a bit weeks in) and i'm wondering if it's time to rack it off the lees into another demijohn? Haven't taken a reading yet.
2. Been at a constant temperature, if time to rack, is now the time to keep it cooler and would the garage be unsuitable because of the fluctuating temperature between day and night?
3. Is it necessary to introduce a campden on each racking?
4. Finally, for flower wines in general, i've been told if it's just a gallon that's being made, sugar needs to be no more than 1kg as it will be too sweet. Many recipies i've seen for hawthorn, elderflower and so on though seem to be much higher...
Thanks!.Pete

peteplus1 said:
First post, yay!
Posted this in the How to section but figured it would be ok here too...