Is it really worth the hassle

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Russ146

Regular.
Reaction score
Ive been brewing beer kits for over 30 years and after a few years break started again on the advice that the two can kits were in a different league.

And yes they are! I'm on my 16th two can kit and everyone has been perfect.

Ive made Ruby, wherry, ipa, nelsons, sundew, conkerwood, crusader in various amounts.

I had a few friends round last weekend and we emptied a 5 gallon barrel, they could not believe it was homebrew (it was wherry) until they saw me pour it from the barrel (a kingkeg toptap)

Making it is so simple, two weeks in the fermenter, then 6 weeks conditioning in the barrel, probably less then 1 hours work to make premium pub quality beer at pence a pint.

Now i was talking about this to the guy in the home brew shop and he has stopped stocking all the gear for what you call AG brewing, heaters, masher, or whatever its all called because he said, and i quote

" its not worth the hassle of all that now when the quality of the kits and the simplicity dosnt warrant the time and expense of it all "

And i have to agree with him, is it really worth the time and hassle?

You tell me

The beer is better,and you can make what you want rather than being restricted to kits. I think he's bitter about his sales.

Kits are really really good but it's all up to you what you want to do, brew beer to turn around quickly and drink with your mates, or brew real beer, process and all. There's no right or wrong, I'm sorta stuck on extract because its a nice balance between easy brewing and creative brewing.

Yes and no...I think that depends on the person .
If you're happy with the choice of kits and what they taste like to you, then why spend 6 hours making AG.