Just starting & needing advice

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

midnitemyhill

Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to this home brewing lark. I used to make wine about 15 years ago, but forgotten nearly all of it. Just started up again a week or so ago and looking forward to the next few months.

I started a 4.5l 4week California Rioja Tinto last week. After mixing the grape juice with the required amount of water I measured the start SG as 1.062. There was no requirement to add extra sugar to the brew. It advised on the instructions that it should be between 1.080 - 1.095. I now realise that I'm not going to get the alcohol content I was expecting. Should I have added sugar to the demijohn before starting fermentation to reach the required starting SG ?
Today day 8, I measured the SG to be 0.996 and as per the instructions racked off into another demijohn for secondary fermentation. I'm supposed to wait until day 20 when the SG is below 0.995 before degassing etc. As the SG I measured is near to what is required should I have gone straight to the degassing stage ? I'm curious as to why I've almost reached the required SG after only 8 of the expected 20 days, or is it because the start SG wasn't as high as it should have been ?

I've also started a 7 day,4.5l Solomon Grundy Rose brew last weekend. This should have been ready to stabilise today, but is still reading 1.022. They advise continuing until below 0.995. The instructions state that once this is reached the stabilizer can be added, degassed etc. with no mention of racking off into another demijohn. What's your advice here ? Siphon off before degassing etc to leave as much of the sediment behind or continue as per the instructions leaving the brew in the same demijohn until final bottle up ?

Sorry to be so long winded :( but I wanted to give as much info as possible.

Thanks in advance,
Marc