King Kegs - Are They Really That Bad?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

james1988

Regular.
Reaction score
Hello,

I've been considering buying a King Keg for the past few days but I can't convince myself that they're good value for money as I keep reading horror stories of beer that's gone bad or leaks.

Are they really that temperamental or are am I only reading the horror stories.

Are they worth £50?

James

Hi,
Ive been using two fairly constantly for 9 months now and have not had any problems. I lube the seals with vaseline and have not had any leaks.

i cant comment on them never used one but having researched them didnt want to risk it, my budget kegs have been great and spent the savings on more grain- also u dont need the big lid, never had any cleaning problems so it just makes getting seal harder

I'm not one for fizzy beer such as lagers, either. I'm more into IPAs and stouts. For the odd witbier, I can bottle it.

Is it worth buying a dalex tap (I think they're the ones that pull down)?

Also when do you rack to keg? Just after primary or secondary?

I've been using the same 3 KK's for the past 15 years without any problems, like you I'm not too keen on fizzy beer.

Like scotttc I ensure that I vasiline the thread and round the 4" seal and dismantle the tap and clean it out and vasiline the threads on that also. Its also worth replacing the rubber rings round the gas injector nozzle, you should be able to get them thru your LHBS.

Rather than lash out 50 squid for one I'd keep your eyes open at car boot sales, you'd be astonished at what you can pick up there on a good day.

If you do get one thru the car boot or freecycle route before you use it take it to bits and give it a very thorough cleaning and sterilization.