Fed up with King Keg.

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Desmnd

Reaction score
I am fed up now (putting it politely) with the King keg. I can not get either of these kegs to maintain pressure. I have been brewing for over 50 years and for 20 years I had a Hambleton Bard beer SPHERE. Never a problem. It is about time I looked elsewhere and Cornelius comes to mind. Any help on this or are their better ones. Looks like it is thin and you need very small hands to get in and clean it. What are the problems in sealing it. I have 2 S30 gas cylinders are they used here? Can't see the obviouse tap on it in the pictures.

https://www.beveragecraft.com/blog/.../#:~:text=9.,while retaining its fresh taste.
Acording to this website the beer is dispensed by a tube (probably plastic) that goes to the bottom where the sediment is.

Do I have to buy one of thouse industrial size gas bottles as shown or does the S30 work here.

Then there is the Ball lock and pin lock.

And 9. in the link says store at 600F which is 316C. Joking right?

Beer has to be clear first before putting it in in a presurised vessel. NOT A KING KEG surley.

Last edited:
Cornies are reasonably easy to clean as long as you rinse them/clean them as soon as the keg has kicked.
I usually leave them pressured up until cleaning then rinse out with hot water from the tap then pour in a kettle of boiling water and seal then shake and leave for 30 mins or so then empty and rinse. I then make sure it is clean then add a couple of litres of Starsan and seal and shake to coat all the inside and store like that.
Now that is a very simple method to be used a few times but many will also strip down the connects and do a rigorous clean with say PBW Oxi etc which I do after a while it does depend on how you are as a brewer.