make wine with cider yeast?

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Waterboy

Reaction score
can you make wine with cider yeast (youngs for eg) if thats all youve got? im tempted to try one of these wow varients or ribena etc. but only have a couple of cider yeast sashets.

if not why not? loads of info wanted please. newbie here. :cheers:

i can't see why you can't the way i see it is that all yeasts no matter what variety are still yeasts! it'll still make alcohol but the taste may be difference, the speed of fermentation and the alcohol % yield will depend. i think some cider yeasts struggle going past 11% when some wines can reach 15% (correct me if i'm wrong anyone). so yeah, you can use them but be careful with the ammount of sugar you put in. its always better to wait a day and get some different yeast sachets tomorrow.. (although even i find it hard to wait!)

Cheers

Andy

The main differences between the Yeast strains at the amount of alcohol they can take before giving up and the speed they ferment from what I understand.

Im not sure if a Yeast designed for Cider will be able to survive at a high Alcohol %.

Do you not fancy trying Ribena Cider or Vimto Cider at least that way you know your making something the yeast can handle.

Worst case senario I guess you could end up with your wine being a slightly lower ABV % to what you were expecting and as a result it will be sweeter due to the left over sugar.

Cheers

Marrsy

Peapodmaster said:
its always better to wait a day and get some different yeast sachets tomorrow.. (although even i find it hard to wait!)

a day!! Ha! i wish! i live in greece so would have to wait a little longer for them to get to me!

its ok tho, im patient ;)

Marrsy86 said:
Do you not fancy trying Ribena Cider or Vimto Cider at least that way you know your making something the yeast can handle.